kascerock.blogg.se

Nas i am zip file
Nas i am zip file












nas i am zip file
  1. #NAS I AM ZIP FILE INSTALL#
  2. #NAS I AM ZIP FILE PC#
  3. #NAS I AM ZIP FILE WINDOWS#

Without the SD-Card the system refused to boot into Linux, and U-Boot claimed that no USB storage devices are present, although it correctly lists the device. When trying the same thing with the SSD the results were even weirder. When interrupting the boot process and entering U-Boot it detects the thumb drive, but I couldn’t tell whether the Pi loaded U-Boot from the thumb drive or SD-Card. The interesting part is, that the SD-Card doesn’t get mounted on boot, making me question if the Pi actually boots from the SD-Card, or the firmware just runs unstable without one present. When inserting an SD-Card only containing the boot partition with the boot loader and Linux kernel it worked fine again. When multiple USB devices were connected it just stopped working at all. Booting from my thumb drive worked, but it really disliked my SSD. The Pi’s USB booting support was already enabled but turned out to be more than flakey. As I am only a casual Linux pleb I settled on Ubuntu Server, downloaded the image file and burned it on the SSD.

#NAS I AM ZIP FILE INSTALL#

I also wanted to use the Pi's capabilities to the fullest and install a 64bit OS. That is why I wanted to run the OS from a USB attached SSD. They just don’t handle the writing of log files, OS housekeeping and updates very well and die randomly. In the past, I made some bad experiences running Pis from an SD-Card over an extended amount of time. I wrote with lots of terminal commands to copy and paste. If you want to build a similar system, check out The large storage drives have their own individual power supplies and the Pi is powered by a basic USB charger. The Pi is connected to the network via ethernet and to the drives via USB. The drive enclosures on the other hand work ok, but they need to be manually turned on when booting, which was a bit of an oversight.

nas i am zip file

I absolutely love this thing, it makes the Pi look like a mini industrial computer and it cools it pretty well. Additionally, we got a passively cooled case made of aluminum for the Pi. We settled for two 4TB Seagate IronWolf NAS drives running in RAID 1. The only things missing were the storage drives and USB enclosures to connect them to the Pi. The plan was to use parts we already got at home, like a Raspberry Pi 3B+ as the base and my old Laptop SSD in a USB case as the boot and cache drive. I could have invested in a turnkey-solution like a box from Synology, but this is just not fun and I wanted to see if I could cheap out a bit.

nas i am zip file nas i am zip file

While this is still a bit of a work in progress, I want to share my setup. Now (six years later) finally, I got a NAS (network-attached storage) where I can sync all my files to. Multiple years later I got a Laptop for school, but since then I have always had to manually transfer files between my machines.

#NAS I AM ZIP FILE PC#

Over the years we added parts and replaced others until I bought an Intel Pentium G2020 dual-core at some point making my PC the fastest one at home back then.

#NAS I AM ZIP FILE WINDOWS#

It was an old tower PC running Windows 2000. My first computer was a PC built from parts thrown out by my dad’s workplace.














Nas i am zip file